Ghosts

Image

 

First, stop laughing. The image? Yeah I put up the cute one because all the other images were pretty frightening for me to look at, I couldn’t bring myself to search for actual ghost images. So if you do not believe in these supernatural beings, please don’t ridicule me. And for those who do, I am sure you can empathize with me. 

Ghosts scare me to an extent where I don’t even say the word “ghosts” for the fear of invoking them. I grew up listening to stories of ghosts, ghouls, poltergeists and what not from my grandparents and now I get nightmares that keep me up all night. Some people tell me that they are perhaps lost souls coming to me or anyone else for help on some unfinished business. But believe me not all are unfinished businessmen/women. There are a number of mischief makers as well who are sadistic to make one pee in their pants. 

There are people, I mean alive people who find supernatural beings fascinating, they love to listen to stories and watch movies that get their heart beating fast. I used to be one of them. I stopped watching movies and reading books on such topics after my nightmares grew to an extent where I dread taking a nap even during the day.

However, I am compiling a book of all the stories my grandfather , my father and my uncle told me as a child and a few of my own experiences. It’s called Roof Top Tales and will be hitting the bookstores soon. If you want your stories or experiences added as well, feel free to drop me an email on nithya.raghunath@outlook.com and I will include your story in the book and give you a special mention.  

22 thoughts on “Ghosts

  1. Wow Niths, all the best for your new book 🙂

  2. Manogna says:

    The image of the ghosts is ‘oh-sooo-cute’!
    the topic of ghosts calls for a very long debate and i have a perennial fear of ghosts..! So count me out of the debate..! 😛

  3. afshan18 says:

    haha 🙂 all the best for the book. Now U gotta read my post tomorrow on H for Horror. I am sure U will njoy it
    If interested blog link : http://afshan-shaik.blogspot.in/
    Dropping by from FB GROUP

  4. Best of luck for the book.

  5. Vasudha Rao says:

    I am sure ,,your book will be a HIT ! All the very best !

  6. ExpatGab says:

    Hi nithyaraghunath, I found you through the A-Z challenge. Ghosts and other creatures of the dark scare the life out of me. I’m constantly looking into cupboards and and under the bed before I turn off the light. I can’t even watch a scary ad on TV if I’m home alone!

  7. Prathima Rao says:

    Good luck for your book Nithya! And to do away with ghosts, call the ghostbusters 🙂

  8. Roshni says:

    That’s a cool idea to compile all those stories!

  9. I can’t wait to read the book that you write…. about ghosts 😀

  10. Karan says:

    ohh that would be an interesting read, best wishes for your book 🙂

    I have heard scores of ghost stories while growing up, I stayed in a village where every Friday there used to be a shutdown from 9 to 9 and this was the time of the dreaded stories. People were so scared that they used to not move an inch and sit at their places holding on to each other. They returned home only after the current was back!!

  11. Err, I am scared of “G” too. 😦

Leave a Reply

