Eucalyptus

I never knew what eucalyptus was until I went to live with my grandparents and uncle and aunt in Bangalore. They lived in what used to be one of the remotest part of Bangalore where every auto driver shuddered to go. This is a place called Malleshpalaya that once used to be nothing but a dense eucalyptus forest. The only two houses were ours and one other person’s who stayed about 100 feet away. The police had given my uncle whistles and a pistol to safeguard the house from dacoits who frequented the place. There were rabbits that roamed freely around the house too. And the air smelled therapeutic. I don’t remember even one warm day through summer. It was always pleasantly cool and biting cold in winters. My cousins and I spent all day collecting little seeds that looked like tops and played with them all day. 

By and by, urbanization took over and we saw the magnificent trees that once stood tall and proud being razed to the ground until there were only houses and shops left. But my friend and I discovered this patch of eucalyptus trees on our way back from school and hung out over there everyday. That was razed down too eventually and all that stands there are apartments apartments and more apartments. Auto drivers no longer crib to take you there, if anything they make a face if you ask them to take you anywhere out of Malleshpalaya. 

This eucalyptus thicket is what inpired me to write the thriller/mystery fiction “The Eucalyptus Grove” You can grab your copy from http://pothi.com/pothi/book/r-nithya-eucalyptus-grove-0. Please be kind enough to leave behind a review of the book as well. Thank you well in advance. 

16 thoughts on “Eucalyptus

  1. Leo says:

    Even the eucalyptus trees near where I work were chopped down recently. Don’t think it is urbanization, but it increased the heat, that’s for sure 😦

  2. jaibalarao says:

    Cool to know the inspiration behind the book

  3. afshan18 says:

    has many medicinal values also No ?? I love the smell. U wrote a book based on it ! Will surely try reading 🙂
    http://afshan-shaik.blogspot.in/

  4. Modern Gypsy says:

    I quite like the sharp, somewhat tangy smell of eucalyptus oil, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen the tree. Interesting to know you wrote a book inspired by the tree! 🙂

  5. Prathima Rao says:

    Brought back so many memories, Nithya. We used ot collect those top like seeds. The fragrance used to be mild. The seeds were of two types. one little ones and one a bigger version with thicker walls. Love the heady fragrance of the oil. First thing to be dabbed on in case of cold or headache.

  6. It is my nani who introduced me to eucalyptus oil for its medicinal properties…so the mention of eucalyptus brings back memories of her.

  7. Vasudha Rao says:

    This was pure nostalgia ! I also remember collecting those cones !

  8. Oh…. Eucalyptus tree inpired you to write the novel “The Eucalyptus Grove”. Cool 🙂 Thanks for sharing this secret 😉

  9. Love this post and I love eucalyptus too. Glad to discover your blog through A-Z blog. Looking forward to your musings. Good luck with the challenge. 🙂

Leave a Reply

